The Deep tech event for sustainable city

Live Live Live Live Live Live Live Live Live Live Live

Watch our event in replay

The excellence of disruptive digital technologies from the academic world for the benefit of sustainable urban transitions

01What is SCI.TY ?

SCI.TY - for Sciences for city - is an initiative led by the alliance of Deep tech players for sutainable city aimed at bringing out more projects from public research and taking them out of the labs to maximize their environmental, societal and economic impact.

02SCI.TY goals

Put technology-intensive innovations to the benefit of the sustainable transition of territories.

Changing the paradigm to build resilient, inclusive, circular and productive cities by capitalizing on the power of scientific research.

The Schedule of Thursday 02 December

Opening speech

09:00 - 09:30 am

Opening speech by Nelly Garnier, Member of the Paris Region Regional Council and Smart Region Special Delegate

With

Nelly Garnier
Nelly Garnier
Member of the Paris Region Regional Council and Smart Region Special Delegate

Deep tech X Sustainable City : disruptive innovation for better urban transistion and sustainable cities

Panel discussion
09:30 - 10:45 am

Artificialization of soils, overconsumption of resources, environmental pollution, climate change, unequal access to public services, housing, gentrification of working-class neighborhoods… The city, in its triple physical, societal and cultural dimension, faces unprecedented challenges. Singularly accelerating the transition to more sustainable, sober, resilient and inclusive cities is becoming an imperative. Can we capitalize on Deep Tech to achieve this?

What place should disruptive digital innovation play in helping local actors meet these challenges of the century? How can cutting-edge academic research in the field of data, artificial intelligence, blockchain, 5G, edge computing or quantum computing quickly land in our territories?

How can we ensure that these deep tech digital innovations are as efficient and sober as possible, and do not amplify a problem they claim to solve?

With

Frédéric Bourquin
Frédéric Bourquin
Director of Compnents & Sustems departement, Université Gustave Eiffel
Yves Lostanlen
Yves Lostanlen
Assistant Professor at the University of Toronto and Chief Business Officer of aiXplain
Fabien Leurent
Fabien Leurent
Researcher at the International Center for Research on Environment and Development, École des Ponts ParisTech
Elena Maj
Elena Maj
PhD student, Université de Paris, EVCAU laboratory
[Animator] Lucile Vessier
[Animator] Lucile Vessier
Physics PhD & Journalist - The Meta News
Pascal Bain
Pascal Bain
Head of the scientific department, ANR
Antoine du Souich
Antoine du Souich
Director of Strategy and Innovation, SOLIDEO

Deep tech for urban transitions : launch of the SCI.TY program

Keynote
11:00 - 12:00 am

SCI. TY is the new program led by the Deep Tech players of the sustainable cities: Cap Digital, Gustave Eiffel University, Erganeo, Ecole des Ponts ParisTech and Descartes Incubator For Development and Innovation. SCI. TY (for Science for City) aims to bring out more projects from public research and get them out of the labs to maximize their environmental, societal and economic impact.

With

Muriel Jougleux
Muriel Jougleux
Vice-President Partnerships and Professionalisation, Université Gustave Eiffel
Jean-Christophe de Tauzia
Jean-Christophe de Tauzia
Managing Director, Descartes Développement & Innovation
Suat Topsu
Suat Topsu
Executive Chairman, Erganeo
Carlos Cunha
Carlos Cunha
Executive Officer, Cap Digital
Marie-Christine Bert
Marie-Christine Bert
Director of International Relations and Corporate Partnerships, Ecole des Ponts ParisTech

Investment : when VCs court academic actors

Fireside chat
2:00 - 2:45 pm

Since 2015, venture capital investments in Deep Tech in Europe have grown three times faster than in the world of B2C startups. But if France has all the keys to the solution to become a central player in Deep Tech, it must nevertheless provide these nuggets from research with a solid funding continuum, mixing a powerful public lever and private investors able to support Deep Tech start-ups in seed. One of the keys to success? The multiplication of alliances between investment funds (venture capital & corporate venture) and leading academic players.

With

Anne-Sophie Carrese
Anne-Sophie Carrese
Partner, Elaïa Partner
Bruno Rostand
Bruno Rostand
Innovation & Entrepreneurship Director, PSL University
Carlos Cunha
Carlos Cunha
CEO, Cap Digital

University Startups and Spin-Offs : behind the buzzword, a story of a researcher's journey towards entrepreneurship

Keynote
2:45 - 3:15 pm

How, concretely, to create a start-up when you are a young researcher? How to go about it? What are the difficulties encountered ? Conversely, what are the precious supports on which to rely? Carlos Viana, CEO and co-founder of ICON Photonics (Deep tech start-up founded and 2018 and spin-off of ESIEE, offering innovative solutions for optical coupling and high performance packaging) tells us about his ‘start-up creation odyssey’.

With

Carlos Viana
Carlos Viana
CEO & Co-founder, ICON Photonics
Jean-Christophe de Tauzia
Jean-Christophe de Tauzia
Managing Director, Descartes Development & Innovation

Deep Tech Plan: 2 years after its launch, what is the assessment and perspective for Bpifrance's framework program?

Keynote
3:30 - 4:00 pm

In 2019, Bpifrance launched an ambitious Deep tech plan, revised and increased in spring 2021 with an ambitious objective: to support the creation of 500 Deep tech start-ups per year by 2025. How to achieve this? What places are given to the different sectors, and in particular the sustainable & smart city sector, within this framework program? What role should academic players, the world of venture capital and technology transfer organizations play? How does this Deep Tech plan intend to contribute to the reindustrialisation of France? Focus & interview with Pascale Ribon, who oversees all Deep tech subjects within the French Public Investment Bank.

With

Pascale Ribon
Pascale Ribon
Deep tech Director, Bpifrance

When Deep Tech disrupts the traditional R&D model of blue chip companies

Panel discussion
4:00 - 5:00 pm

If deep tech start-ups carry out crazy hopes to meet the major challenges of the environment, the city of tomorrow or health; they also hold technologies that will carry the markets and industries of tomorrow.

Are there to threaten disruption to the R&D capabilities of blue chip companies? Not really. Because if Deep tech start-ups benefit from the support of major universities and significant investments, they also need the expertise of industrialization processes and the advanced skills of large groups to successfully launch their innovative products or services. All this, under pressure of a long and regulated marketing cycles than for traditional digital start-ups.

This win win issue could open a fertile ground for constructive partnerships between Deep Tech start-ups and blue chip companies… but with a real change of mind in R&D&I paradigm.

With

Michele Dominici
Michele Dominici
Innovation Project Manager Intelligent and Sustainable Housing, Bouygues Group
Bernard Lledos
Bernard Lledos
Accelair Deep tech Incubator Director, Air Liquide
Cécile Villette
Cécile Villette
CEO, Altaroad
Tarik Bourouina
Tarik Bourouina
Professor at ESIEE & co-founder of several Deep tech start-ups
Marc Robert
Marc Robert
CEO, Carboneo
Dominique Fernier
Dominique Fernier
Foundation Director, Gustave Eiffel University
Florent Detroy
Florent Detroy
Chief Editor - POC Media

Technology Transfer - Human first

Fireside chat
5:00 - 5:40 pm

Access to capital financing from the seed phase of a deep tech start-up is, as we know, the main driver of success. However, the “human” aspect is key. This is also the common feature of all technology transfer and valorization activities, well beyond the creation of start-ups.

Focusing on human needs, establishing oneself in the immediate vicinity of research laboratories, favouring a sectoral approach in technology transfer or promoting the development of a common culture and shared objectives are all essential to “land” Deep Tech in our industries and territories. An update on these issues which are – too often taken for granted – are no longer appreciated to their true potential.

With

Céline Clausener
Céline Clausener
Executive Director, Linkinnov
Nathalie Vouillon
Nathalie Vouillon
Head of mission Deeptech & Innovative SMEs, Descartes Development & Innovation
Hugues Vialletel
Hugues Vialletel
Technological Transfer and Entrepreneurship Manager and RST and Standardization Manager, Gustave Eiffel University
Adeline Douchet
Adeline Douchet
Director of Investments, Erganeo

The Consortium

SCI.TY is supported by the unique alliance of French Deep tech reference players for sustainable city.

Cap Digital

Created in 2006, Cap Digital is the first European collective of digital innovators and the digital transition of territories. It brings together more than 1,000 member structures including 850+ SMEs, 70 Large Companies/ETI/EPIC, 70+ schools/universities/laboratories as well as 10 investment funds

Université Gustave Eiffel

Multidisciplinary and national, Gustave Eiffel University has the distinction of being the first institution bringing together a research organization, a university, a school of architecture and three engineering schools. Gustave Eiffel University works in many areas of research. In particular, it represents a quarter of French research on the cities of tomorrow

École des Ponts ParisTech

École des Ponts ParisTech is a great French school. Since 1747, it has been training high-level engineers, futures leaders and researchers able to meet the challenges of society and transforming it. Beyond civil engineering and regional planning, which historically made its prestige, the School develops training and research excellence related to the challenges of the energy transition

Erganeo

Erganeo is a French investment company specializing in disruptive innovations with a strong societal impact. Its mission : to accelerate and simplify associations between Research and Industry in commitment with ethical and sustainable progress.

Descartes Development and Innovation

The Descartes Incubator (within Descartes Development and Innovation) is a service to help the emergence and support of projects for the creation of innovative companies with high technological or scientific added value. It is located in the heart of the Pole of Excellence Sustainable City of Cité Descartes, on the campus of the University Gustave Eiffel.

Lieu

Maison de l’entreprise innovante

2 bis Rue Alfred Nobel,
77420 Champs-sur-Marne

Can’t get around? No worries, join us in visio.

Any Queries ?

Contact us

The SCI.TY event and program is supported by

Funding Partner : Paris Region

Partner

The servers hosting this website are located in Paris (France) and cooled by a process known as «dry» (non adiabatic) thanks to air-coolers and a free cooling system.

L’événement Deep tech pour la ville de demain

L’excellence des technologies numériques de rupture issues du monde académique au profit de transitions urbaines durables

01Qu’est-ce SCI.TY ?

SCI.TY - pour Sciences for city - est une initiative portée par l’alliance des acteurs deeptech de la ville de demain visant à faire émerger davantage de projets issus de la recherche publique et les faire sortir des labos pour maximiser leur impact environnemental, sociétal et économique.

02Les objectifs de SCI.TY

Mettre les solutions à forte intensité technologique au profit de la transition durable des territoires.

Changer de paradigme pour construire des villes résilientes, inclusives, circulaires et productives en capitalisant sur la puissance de la recherche scientifique.

Rejoignez-nous le 02 Décembre pour découvrir SCI.TY

En compagnie des expert.e.s académiques, entrepreneur.se.s issu.e.s de la recherche et acteurs institutionnels qui mettent la Deeptech au service de la transition urbaine.
Événement accessible en visio ou présentiel.

Le Programme du Jeudi 02 Décembre

Discours d’ouverture

09:00 - 09:30

Mot de bienvenue et discours d’ouverture par Nelly Garnier, Conseillère régionale et Déléguée spéciale à la Smart Region – Région Île-de-France

Avec

Nelly Garnier
Nelly Garnier
Conseillère régionale d'Île-de-France et Déléguée spéciale à la smart région

Deep tech X Ville de demain : l’innovation de rupture au secours de la transition vers des villes plus durables et désirables

Table ronde
09:30 - 10:45

Artificialisation des sols, surconsommation des ressources, pollution des milieux, dérèglements climatiques, inégal accès aux services publics, à l’habitat, gentrification des quartiers populaires… La ville, dans sa triple dimension physique, sociétale et culturelle, fait face à des défis sans précédent. Accélérer singulièrement la transition vers des villes plus durables, sobres, résilientes et inclusives devient un impératif. Peut-on capitaliser sur les Deep tech pour y parvenir ?

Quelle place l’innovation numérique de rupture doit-elle jouer pour aider les acteurs locaux à relever ces défis du siècle ? Comment les travaux de recherche académique de pointe dans le domaine de la data, de l’intelligence artificielle, de la blockchain, de la 5G, du edge computing ou de l’informatique quantique peuvent rapidement atterrir dans nos territoires ? Comment veiller à ce que ces innovations numériques Deep tech soient les plus efficientes et sobres possibles, et ne viennent pas amplifier un problème qu’elles prétendent résoudre ?

Avec

Frédéric Bourquin
Frédéric Bourquin
Directeur du département Composants et Systèmes, Université Gustave Eiffel
Yves Lostanlen
Yves Lostanlen
Professeur adjoint à l'Université de Toronto et Chief Business Officer d'aiXplain
Fabien Leurent
Fabien Leurent
Chercheur au Centre International de Recherche sur l'Environnement et le Développement, École des Ponts ParisTech
Elena Maj
Elena Maj
Doctorante, Université de Paris, laboratoire EVCAU
[Animatrice] Lucile Vessier
[Animatrice] Lucile Vessier
Docteure en physique et Journaliste - The Meta News
Pascal Bain
Pascal Bain
Responsable du département scientifique Sciences Physique, Ingénierie, Chimie et Energie, ANR
Antoine du Souich
Antoine du Souich
Directeur de la stratégie et de l'innovation, SOLIDEO

La Deep tech au bénéfice des transitions urbaines : lancement du programme SCI.TY

Présentation
11:00 - 12:00

SCI.TY est le nouveau programme porté par les acteurs Deep tech de la ville de demain : Cap Digital, l’Université Gustave Eiffel, Erganeo, l’Ecole des Ponts ParisTech et l’Incubateur Descartes de Descartes Developpement et Innovation. SCI.TY (pour Science for City) vise à faire émerger davantage de projets issus de la recherche publique et les faire sortir des labos pour maximiser leur impact environnemental, sociétal et économique.

Avec

Muriel Jougleux
Muriel Jougleux
Vice-Présidente Partenariats et Professionnalisation, Université Gustave Eiffel
Marie-Christine Bert
Marie-Christine Bert
Directrice des Relations internationales et des partenariats entreprises, Ecole des Ponts ParisTech
Jean-Christophe de Tauzia
Jean-Christophe de Tauzia
Directeur général, Descartes Développement & Innovation
Suat Topsu
Suat Topsu
Président exécutif, Erganeo
Carlos Cunha
Carlos Cunha
Délégué Général, Cap Digital

Investissement : quand les VC courtisent les acteurs académiques

Fireside chat
14:00 - 14:45

Depuis 2015, en Europe, les investissements en capital-risque dans la Deep tech ont augmenté trois fois plus vite que dans l’univers des startups B2C. Mais si la France a toutes les cartes en main pour devenir un acteur central de la Deep tech, elle doit cependant fournir à ces pépites issues de la recherche un continuum de financement solide, mêlant un puissant levier public et des investisseurs privés capables de soutenir les start-up Deep tech en amorçage. L’une des clés du succès ? La multiplication des alliances entre fonds d’investissement et acteurs académiques de premier plan.

Avec

Anne-Sophie Caresse
Anne-Sophie Caresse
Partner, Elaia Partner
Bruno Rostand
Bruno Rostand
Directeur Innovation & Entrepreneuriat, Université PSL
Carlos Cunha
Carlos Cunha
Délégué Général, Cap Digital

« Start-up issue de la recherche » : derrière le buzzword, récit de l’itinéraire d’un chercheur vers l’entreprenariat

Keynote
14:45 - 15:15

Comment, concrètement, créer sa start-up quand on est un jeune chercheur ? Comment s’y prendre ? Quelles difficultés sont rencontrées ? A contrario, quels sont les précieux soutiens sur lesquels s’appuyer ? Carlos Viana, CEO et cofondateur d’ICON Photonics (start-up Deep tech fondée et 2018 et spin off de l’ESIEE, proposant des solutions innovantes de couplage optique et de packaging hautes performances) nous raconte son parcours. 

Avec

Carlos Viana
Carlos Viana
CEO et Co-fondateur, ICON Photonics
[Animateur] Jean-Christophe de Tauzia
[Animateur] Jean-Christophe de Tauzia
Directeur Général - Descartes Développement et Innovation

Plan Deep tech : 2 ans après son lancement, quels bilan et perspective pour le programme cadre de Bpifrance ?

Keynote
15:30 - 16:00

En 2019, Bpifrance lançait un ambitieux plan Deep tech, revu et augmenté au printemps 2021 avec un objectif ambitieux : soutenir la création de 500 start-up Deep tech issues de la recherche par an d’ici 2025. Comment y parvenir ? Quelles places sont accordées aux différentes filières et notamment la filière ville durable au sein de ce programme cadre ? Quel rôle doivent jouer les acteurs académiques, le monde du capital risque et les organismes de transfert technologique ? Comment ce plan Deep tech entend permettre de concourir à la réindustrialisation de la France ? Le point complet avec Pascale Ribon, qui supervise tous les sujets Deep tech au sein de la Banque publique d’investissement.

Avec

Pascale Ribon
Pascale Ribon
Directrice Deep tech, Bpifrance

Quand la Deep tech chamboule le modèle traditionnel de la R&D des grandes entreprises

Table ronde
16:00 - 17:00

Si les start-up Deep tech portent en elles des espoirs fous pour répondre aux grands enjeux de l’environnement, de la ville de demain ou de la santé; elles détiennent aussi des technologies qui vont porter les marchés et industries de demain.

De là à menacer de disruption les capacités de R&D des grandes entreprises ? Pas sûr. Car si les start-up Deep tech bénéficient du soutien des grandes universités et d’investissements conséquents, elles ont également besoin de l’expertise des process d’industrialisation et des compétences pointues des grands groupes pour réussir le lancement de leur produit ou service innovant. Le tout, sous la contrainte de cycles de mise en marché plus longs et plus réglementés que ceux auxquels sont confrontées les start-up du digital plus classiques.

Cette interdépendance pourrait ouvrir un terrain fertile pour des partenariats constructifs entre jeunes pousses Deep tech et grandes entreprises… mais au prix d’un changement de culture et de paradigme R&D&I dans ces dernières.

Avec

Bernard Lledos
Bernard Lledos
Directeur de l'incubateur Deep tech Accelair, Air Liquide
Michele Dominici
Michele Dominici
Chef de projet Innovation - Habitat Intelligent et Durable, Groupe Bouygues
Cécile Villette
Cécile Villette
CEO, Altaroad
Tarik Bourouina
Tarik Bourouina
Professeur à l'ESIEE et co-fondateur de plusieurs start-up Deep tech
Marc Robert
Marc Robert
CEO, Carboneo
Dominique Fernier
Dominique Fernier
Directeur de la Fondation de l'Université Gustave Eiffel
[Animateur] Florent Detroy
[Animateur] Florent Detroy
Rédacteur en chef, POC Media

Transfert technologique - Human first

Tools kit Keynote
17:00 - 17:40

L’accès au financement en capital dès la phase d’amorçage d’une start-up Deep tech est, on le sait, un levier clé de succès. Pour autant, l’aspect “humain” ne doit pas être négligé. C’est d’ailleurs le trait commun de toutes les activités de transfert et valorisation technologique, bien au-delà de la création de start-up. Focaliser sur le besoin humain, s’installer à proximité immédiate des laboratoires de recherche, privilégier une approche sectorielle dans le transfert technologique ou encore favoriser le développement d’une culture commune et d’objectifs partagés sont autant de catalyseurs essentiels pour “faire atterrir » la Deep tech dans nos industries et sur nos territoires. Le point sur ces enjeux qui – trop souvent considérés comme acquis – ne sont plus appréciés à leur juste potentiel.

Avec

Céline Clausener
Céline Clausener
Directrice Générale, Linkinnov
Nathalie Vouillon
Nathalie Vouillon
Cheffe de mission Deeptech & PME Innovantes, Descartes Développement & Innovation
Hugues Vialletel
Hugues Vialletel
Responsable Transfert technologique et Entreprenariat et chargé de Mission RST et Normalisation, Université Gustave Eiffel
Adeline Douchet
Adeline Douchet
Directrice des investissements, Erganeo

Le Consortium

SCI.TY est porté par l’alliance unique des acteurs français de référence de la Deeptech pour la ville de demain

Cap Digital

Créé en 2006, Cap Digital est le premier collectif européen d’innovateurs du numérique et de la transition numérique des territoires. Il regroupe plus de 1 000 structures adhérentes dont 850+ PME, 70 Grandes Entreprises/ETI/EPIC, 70+ écoles/universités/laboratoires ainsi que 10 fonds d’investissement.

Université Gustave Eiffel

Pluridisciplinaire et nationale, l’Université Gustave Eiffel a pour particularité d’être le premier établissement rassemblant un organisme de recherche, une université, une école d’architecture et trois écoles d’ingénieurs. L’Université Gustave Eiffel œuvre dans de nombreux domaines de recherche. En particulier, elle représente un quart de la recherche française sur les villes de demain.

Ecole Ponts ParisTech

L'École des Ponts ParisTech est une grande école française. Depuis 1747, elle forme des ingénieurs de haut niveau, de futurs dirigeants et des chercheurs aptes à relever les défis de la société et de la transformer. Au-delà du génie civil et de l'aménagement du territoire, qui ont fait historiquement son prestige, l'École développe formations et recherche d'excellence liées aux enjeux de la transition énergétique.

Erganeo

Erganeo est une société d’investissement française spécialisée dans les innovations de rupture à fort impact sociétal. Sa mission : accélérer et simplifier les associations entre la Recherche et l’Industrie en faveur d’un progrès éthique et durable.

Incubateur Descartes

L’Incubateur Descartes est un service d’aide à l’émergence et à l’accompagnement de projets de création d’entreprises innovantes à forte valeur ajoutée technologique ou scientifique. Il est implanté au cœur du Pôle d’Excellence Ville Durable de Paris-Vallée de la Marne, avec l’Université Gustave Eiffel.

Lieu

Maison de l’entreprise innovante

2 bis Rue Alfred Nobel,
77420 Champs-sur-Marne

Vous ne pouvez pas vous déplacer ? Pas de soucis, rejoignez-nous en visio.

Une Question ?

Contactez-nous

L’événement et le programme SCI.TY sont portés par

Avec le soutien financier de la Région Île-de-France

Partenaires

Les serveurs qui hébergent ce site web sont situés à Paris (France) et refroidis par un procédé dit « à sec » (non adiabatique) grâce à des aéroréfrigérants et une installation de free cooling.